KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Saving and Loading Users
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 6.5 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: April 20, 2001
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

4D allows the users in the password system to be saved in a file or loaded to a database. This makes it convenient for the Administrator to save the current User group as a backup and reuse it in any databases. However, the Administrator is the only one who can perform these operations. Therefore, if you login as a Designer, the "Save Groups" and "Load Groups" options will be grayed out.

Note: Only the Users that were created by the Administrator can be saved to a file.

Saving Users to a file:


  • Login to your database as the Administrator.
  • In the Design environment, select Passwords in the Tools menu to open the Password window.
  • Select Save Groups in the Passwords menu.
  • Specify the directory, the name of the file and click Save.


Loading Users from a file:

  • Login into your database as the Administrator.
  • In the Design environment, select Passwords in the Tools menu to open the Password window.
  • Select Load Groups in the Passwords menu.
  • Select the User and Groups file to be load, then click OK.


For more information see Saving and Loading Groups in Chapter 9 of the 4th Dimension Design Reference.