KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Upgrading to a new version of 4D Business Kit
PRODUCT: 4D Business Kit | VERSION: 1.0 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: May 30, 2002
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In


By now you have a licensed copy of 4D Business Kit and your store is up and running. However, you have discovered an upgraded version, and are left wondering how to implement your current operations with the new version. To perform the upgrade, first extract the new version into your hard drive. Copy the folders of your store that you want to transfer (such as DEMO_Site folder) along with the workspace files that correspond to your stores (those files ending in ".4DD" and ".4DR" for the Windows platform and just the file ending in ".4DD" for the Mac) over to the folder containing the new version of 4D Business Kit. You may decide to rename the workspace you are transferring so that it does not conflict with the new one. Otherwise, you may end up replacing the existing workspace files in the new version, if they happen to share the same name.

NOTE: Do not replace the current version with the files from the new version. You will lose all your store information if you do it this way.

If you have certificates set up on your system, just copy the files ending in ".pem" from the old directory to the same directory in the new version. You will also replace the files that came with the new version, but same as above, the new version's ".pem" files are relatively unimportant at this point.

Once you have the files copied, launch 4D Business Kit, make sure you have the correct workspace selected and you can now take advantage of the new features in the upgraded version.