Normally, the Designer of a database is the only user who has access to the Design environment. However, if you have a number of users who need to be able to modify the database design or trace a method, you can place those users in a group and give the group access to the Design environment.
You give a group access to the Design environment by selecting the group from the Structure Access drop-down list on the “Access Management” page of the Preferences dialog box. For more information, see the paragraph “Access Management Page,” in the Design reference manual.
All other users are ordinary users. When a user opens the database, it opens in the Custom Menus environment or in the User environment (if the access is authorized). The access of a user is limited by group membership.