KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Storing users and groups of your database to a BLOB
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 2004 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: November 22, 2004
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

In 4D 2004, you can store the users and the groups of the database created by the Administrator to a BLOB using the USERS TO BLOB command. This command encrypts the generated BLOB which can only be read using the the BLOB TO USERS command. Only the Administrator can execute this command. If a different user tries to execute it, a privilege error (-9949) occurs. Using this command is similar to saving the group and users from the Password menu. The only difference is that the USERS TO BLOB command stores it into a BLOB instead into a file. Consequently, you can store the information in the BLOB also into a file. As shown in example below, the group and users are stored in the BLOB and the BLOB is copied to a file. Through this you can backup the users of your database programmatically.

Code