KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Reload a locked form or method using the lock button
PRODUCT: 4D Server | VERSION: 2004 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: September 8, 2006
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

When using 4D Server, object locking occurs when two or more users attempt to modify the same form simultaneously. If a user is modifying a form in the Design environment, the form is locked. Other users cannot modify the same form until the first user frees the form by closing it. Once the first user closes the Form editor, another user can either quit and load the form or click on the red lock button in the tool bar to gain read and write access.

red lock

The lock button also appears in the Method editor when trying to modify a locked method.