KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: New Backup Preference in 4D 2004.3
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 2004.3 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: January 10, 2006
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

Starting with 4D 2004.3, a new preference allows you to set the maximum number of unsuccessful backup attempts: Cancel the operation after X attempts.

This option is found on the Backup page in the Backup theme of the Preferences dialog box:

The option is only available when the Retry after... option has been checked. This parameter sets the number of times the backup module will reattempt the backup.

If the backup has not be carried out successfully after the maximum number of attempts set has been reached, it is cancelled and the error 1401 is generated (“The maximum number of backup attempts has been reached; automatic backup is temporarily disabled”). In this case, no new automatic backup will be attempted as long as the application has not been restarted, or a manual backup has been carried out successfully.

This parameter is useful in order to avoid a case where an extended problem (requiring human intervention) that prevented a backup from being carried out would have led to the application repeatedly attempting the backup to the detriment of its overall performance. By default, this parameter is not checked.