KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: 4D automatically saves your changes to forms and object methods
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: March 24, 2000
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

There are several points when 4D saves all of the changes you've made in the design environment:

When you choose Use------>User (Option + U) (Ctrl + U) to go to the User environment.

When you click the User window to go to the User environment.

When you click the close box for the object method's listing editor window. (saves only the current window)

When you choose File-----> Save (Option + S) (Ctrl + S). (saves only the current window)

When you choose File------> Close (Option + W) (Ctrl + W). (Closes only the current window).

Thus, there is seldom a need to choose File-----> Save (Option + S) (Ctrl + S). 4D saves any changes you have made when you switch to the User environment or close the window.