KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Group Access to the User Mode
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 6.5 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: June 9, 2000
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

4D v6.5 allows you to define a group's access to the User mode. This optionallows you to control and protect the access to the User mode when a user is in Custom Menus mode. A user that is not part of the group that has access to the User mode will not be able to access the User mode from the Custom Menus mode, neither by using a menu command nor by using the standard shortcut (Option+F on MacOS, Alt+F4 or close box on Windows). If a user tries to access the User mode without having the appropriate privileges, 4D automatically quits.

The Designer and Administrator always have access to the User mode even if they are not explicitly part of the group that has access to the User mode.

A user that has access to the Design mode always has access to the User mode, even if the user is not explicitly part of the group that has access to the User mode.

To give a group access to the User mode:

In the Database Properties window, click on the second tab, "Data control and access". The corresponding dialog box appears.

Choose a group in the "User Mode Access" drop-down list. You must have previously defined the access groups in 4D's Password editor.

Accept the dialog box.