KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Deleting Records
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: | PLATFORM:
Published On: August 13, 1999
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

If the ‘Completely Deleted’ option is checked:


  • 4D updates the 4D Backup log file if 4D Backup is running.
  • Updates the address table entry to show that the record has been deleted.
  • Updates index table entries.
  • Marks the tag in the record header.
  • Updates the occupation bit tables if the record doesn’t use the same number of blocks.


  • If the ‘Completely Deleted’ option is unchecked:
  • 4D updates the 4D Backup log file if 4D Backup is running.
  • Updates the address table entry to show that the record has been deleted.
  • Updates index table entries.
  • Updates the occupation bit tables if the record does not use the same number of blocks.


Therefore turning off the ‘Completely Deleted’ option will improve 4D’s performance slightly. If however you later need to recover the data file by tags there is a possibility that you may recover some records that had been deleted (because the record headers were not flagged). Deleted records that were overwritten by new records will not be recovered.