KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Another way to disconnect clients
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 11.4 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: July 9, 2009
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

The "Close Database" menu item can be used to disconnect from a 4D Server. The main difference between using this option, as opposed to using the Quit menu item or the QUIT 4D command, is that the 4D application will remain open, but will still disconnect from the 4D Server. This way you can connect to another 4D Server application without needing to restart your 4D application.

Commented by Atanas Atanassov on July 17, 2009 at 9:33 AM
In this way the user can connect not only to a different 4D Server but also, he can open a database in single user mode or create a new database without need to restatd 4D.
Commented by Jesse Pina on July 9, 2009 at 3:41 PM
Remember that this requires that you have access to design mode.