KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Quickly deleting the Client Cache files
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 17 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: September 7, 2018
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

When 4D (remote) connects to a 4D Server, it will save files into the Client Cache folder on the remote machine.

On Windows, that folder is: C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\4D
On MacOS, that folder is: /Users/UserName/Library/Caches/4D

These files are automatically created as needed by the 4D remote application and used throughout the use of the database while connected to the 4D Server.

Sometimes, it can be useful to delete these files (for troubleshooting, maintenance, disk cleanup, etc).

On Windows, the folllowing command can be used to remove all of the client cache files:

rd /S /Q %appdata%\..\Local\4D\


On MacOS, the folllowing command can be used to remove all of the client cache files:
rm -rf ~/Library/Caches/4D/