KNOWLEDGE BASE
Log In    |    Knowledge Base    |    4D Home
Tech Tip: Basic Troubleshooting Tip for 4D 2003 - Recreating "Preferences"
PRODUCT: 4D | VERSION: 2003 | PLATFORM: Mac & Win
Published On: March 19, 2008
Your current browser may not allow you to download the asset. We recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.
Log In

You may find yourself in a situation where your 4D application (Single-user, Client, Server) is not behaving the way you expect it to. In some situations this can be caused by a corrupt preferences file. The preferences file for an application typically stores the settings of any customizable features between runs, and if it becomes corrupted it can cause an application to crash or otherwise misbehave. The easiest way to diagnose preference file trouble is to move the file(s) from where the application is expecting to find it, thus causing the application to recreate a default preferences file from scratch. If this does not help you can simply move them back.

For 4D 2003 the preferences files can be found at the following locations:

Windows:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\4D
C:\Documents and Settings\_username_\Application Data\4D
C:\WinNT\4D or C:\Windows\4D



Mac OS 9:

Macintosh HD:System Folder:Application Support:4D
Macintosh HD:System Folder:Preferences:4D



Mac OS X:

/Users/_username_/Library/Application Support/4D
/Library/Application Support/4D



On Windows: You can safely rename the folder on a PC with the exception of the "Network" directory which must contain at least one Network Component for use with 4D Server and you may also want to save the "Macros.xml" file if you have any custom macros. Registrations are kept in the Windows Registry, so you need not worry about finding your serial numbers if you clear the 4D folder.

On Macintosh: You can safely rename this folder with the exception that you will lose your registrations and must re-enter your serial numbers. However, you need not worry about losing the Network Components because on a Mac they are stored inside of the individual 4D applications that use them. You can also delete these folders if you are not worried about preserving them.

-----
On Mac OS X there are some additional preference files that can be found in the following locations:

/Users/<username>/Library/Preferences/com.4D.*
/Users/_username_/Library/Preferences/4D*



You can safely move any of the files in those locations starting with either 4D* or com.4D.* to a different location on your machine. If this does not help you can simply move them back.
-----

Related resources:

The 4D Client structure cache

See Also: